Lisa Harkrader

The William Allen White Children’s Book Award, established in 1952 and voted on by kid readers, was the first state children’s choice award in the country.

The Kansas Notable Books list, established in 2006, is the annual recognition of fifteen outstanding titles written either by Kansans or about a Kansas-related topic.

Airball: My Life in Briefs

2008 William Allen White Medal Winner

2006 Kansas Notable Book


The Adventures of Beanboy

2014–2015 William Allen White List

2014 Kansas Notable Book

Praise for Ruby Makes It Even “Second graders loved this story and were able to fully comprehend the meaning of odd and even. The plot was engaging for students. . . 
a great story to start a discussion of even and odd numbers.” —National Council of 
Teachers of Mathematics
“No Place Like Space is a charming story that practically reads itself, with funky black and white and shades of gray illustrations and tons of action, dialogue, humor, and character development. What’s not to like?” —Midwest Book Review
Photo credit: © Can Stock Photo Inc. / halfpoint © 2021 Lisa Harkrader. All rights reserved.